Car accidents can range from minor fender benders to catastrophic, life-altering events. If you or a loved one has been involved in an accident, you are familiar with the pain, stress, and anxiety it can cause. When you are hit by an uninsured driver, frustration multiplies.
When an accident occurs, and both motorists have car insurance, the insurance companies will sort out the property damage, the injuries, and the damages. If you are hit by a motorist who does not have car insurance, the situation immediately becomes far more complex.
Drivers Must Be Insured
In order to legally drive in New York, drivers must have auto liability insurance coverage. The minimum coverage that drivers must carry is as follows:
- $10,000 to cover property damage from a single accident
- $25,000 for bodily injury and $50,000 for death if someone in an accident dies
- $50,000 for bodily injury and $100,000 for death if two or more people are killed in an accident
Drivers must have liability coverage must be from an in-state company licensed by the NY State Department of Financial Services. It must also be certified by the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles. Motorists cannot carry out-of-state insurance. The insurance remains in effect throughout the duration of the registration’s validity and in the name of the person the car is registered to, if even the vehicle is not in use.
Next Steps to Take After Being Hit by an Underinsured Driver
You should be aware of the steps you should take if you are in an automobile accident with an uninsured driver. There are actions you should and should not take after being hit by an uninsured motorist. Listed below are these tips:
- Trade contact information with the other driver. Take down their email address, phone number, address, and tag number.
- Call law enforcement to report the accident. Having a police report may be critical to your case, so having the details of the accident thoroughly detailed can be essential.
- Get checked out by a medical professional. Even if you do not believe you sustained an injury, it is best to let the doctor determine that for you. Some injuries do not instantly show up.
- Precisely follow the instructions given to you by your healthcare provider. By following the doctor’s orders, if your injuries get worse, you can prove that you did your best to take care of yourself by following the specific directions given to you by your doctor.
- Take photos and videos of the scene if you are able. Any evidence you gather may be helpful at a later date.
Seeing a doctor immediately, even if you do not believe it is necessary, is important in case you need to pursue a lawsuit later. Proving that you took the accident and your injuries and aftercare seriously are critical to any potential court proceedings later.
Contact a Car Accident Attorney as Soon as Possible
A negligent, uninsured motorist hit you. You may have been injured or had to miss work because of the accident, both costing you money and losing income at the same time. Your vehicle might have sustained damage, so it is in need of repairs.
None of this is your fault.
Contact Towey Law, PLLC. Our talented legal team believes you should not have to pay for the mistakes a negligent, uninsured motorist makes. One of our experienced automobile injury attorneys will ensure you know your rights and are protected. Our aim is to protect your rights and ensure you get the damages you are entitled to receive.